Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Turn Off Facebook Friend Finder

If you are a facebook user, you may have been prompted to reconnect with old friends via their "Friend Finder" option.  Well, what you don't know is that they (facebook) will access all of your contacts and ask them to join facebook...sometimes without you even prompting it!  I know because this happened to me.

So, with that, I am going to walk you through how to disable this function from your facebook wall.  The draw is that facebook says they will help you find friends so many are thinking, hey, sounds great.  Problem is then facebook has access to all your contacts.  Not so good.

  • First, you need to log in to your facebook account.  This is simply, just go to facebook like you always do.
  • Make sure you are on the "Home" page (top right corner of your wall - first tab).
  • Next, look to the left side of the page, near the top and click on "Friends" (about the fourth in the list).
  • Now, click on "Find Friends".
  • Click on the BLUE Letters that say "Learn More" under "Find Friends".
  • Now click on the BLUE letters that say visit "This Page".
  • FINALLY, click on the large BLUE button saying, "Remove".
  • A message will come up saying it is removing all imported contacts.  Now you are done.
This should solve your problem of having facebook bother all your "contacts" in your contact list!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.